How to get rid of a mattress in Portland (2026 local guide)
We looked for every way to get rid of a mattress in and around Portland and listed them all below — pickup and recycling, city curbside collection, drop-off sites, junk removal companies, store haul-away and donation — with what each one costs and the page we took it from.
Multnomah County, Oregon · 33 options, 11 free · checked Sep 22, 2026
Mattresses can be recycled in Portland — 2 of the drop-off options recycle or reuse rather than landfill, and you can book a recycling pickup online with our Portland mattress recycling partner.
6 ways to get rid of a mattress in Portland
Everything we could find for this city. Click any one of them for the full details.
- 1A Bedder World Mattress Recycling — Portland (our Portland mattress recycling partner)Easily book a curbside or in-home pickup for mattress recycling throughout Portland$125
- 2City curbside pickup in PortlandBook a date with the city and leave it at the curb$14
- 3Drop-off options near Portland7 places that take mattresses, nearest 7 miles awayFree
- 4Junk removal options serving Portland4 national companies that come to your doorQuoted by address
- 5Store haul-away options in Portland20 retailers remove the old mattress on deliveryFree at 8
- 6Donation options in Portland2 charities checked, 1 will not take a mattressFree
Also on this page: Oregon rules · common questions · what to check first
1
Want your mattress picked up and recycled in Portland?
Use our Portland mattress recycling partner, A Bedder World.
A Bedder World is a curbside and in-home mattress pickup service, recycling mattresses for homes and businesses throughout Portland. They take it from the curb or carry it out of any room, and you book online and see the full price before you confirm.
- All 50 states covered
- 1M+ mattresses recycled
- 90% of materials recovered
Metro areas in all 50 states; book online. Small-town and rural coverage not stated.

$125a mattress · $155 with a box spring
See the price for PortlandRun by the founder of this site. Every other option here is listed so you can compare.
Prices, conditions and sources
Curbside or inside pickup; stairs and long carries cost extra. Owned by the operator of this site.
$125 — Single mattress, per national FAQ.
$155 — Mattress and box spring set, per national FAQ.
$10 extra — Each flight of stairs.
Not confirmed: Per-city price may differ from the national FAQ.
Not confirmed: Recycling outcome per market not independently verified.
A Bedder World states it serves homes and businesses, listing bulk removal for hotels, apartments and commercial customers alongside residential pickup. Source
A Bedder World states it covers 1,000+ cities across all 50 states, with next-day pickup available. Source
A Bedder World states it removes the mattress from anywhere on the property, so pickup is from the curb or from inside the home. Source
A Bedder World states 90% of mattress materials are recovered and commits to sending none to landfill. Source
A Bedder World states it has recycled more than 1 million mattresses. Source
2City curbside pickup in Portland
Portland’s own collection service takes the mattress from outside your home. You normally have to book a date in advance and follow their wrapping rules.
Portland franchise hauler bulky waste curbside pickup
Single-family homes, duplexes, triplexes and fourplexes in Portland, served by the address's franchise garbage and recycling company at rates set by the City. Renters must ask the landlord, who holds the garbage account; apartment residents and businesses go through the property manager.
Conditions and source
Contact your garbage company for a quote and a pickup date; City rules require collection within seven days of the request, and the page advises calling at least a week ahead. Cost is a flat $18 pickup fee per trip plus a per-item charge, with the garbage company deciding the category: King mattress including box spring $29, Queen/Full mattress including box spring $21, Twin/Single mattress including box spring $14, box spring only $14. Set items at the curb by 6:00 a.m. on the scheduled day and no more than 24 hours beforehand; if items are not out in time the pickup fee still applies plus a second-trip fee. An additional fee may apply if the pickup needs extra time or staff.
- $14 — Medium category: twin or single mattress (includes box spring), or a box spring only, on top of the $18 per-trip pickup fee
- $18 — Flat pickup fee charged per trip, in addition to the per-item charge
- $21 — Large category: queen or full mattress (includes box spring), on top of the $18 per-trip pickup fee
- $29 — Extra large category: king mattress (includes box spring), on top of the $18 per-trip pickup fee
Not confirmed: No effective date is published for the rate table and no per-trip item cap is stated.
Not confirmed: No bed-bug or wrapping rule for mattresses is published, and the City page does not say what happens to a collected mattress.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
City of Portland BPS — Bulky waste collection rates
City of Portland BPS — Large household waste disposal options
$14plus $18 per trip
Visit siteA Bedder World collects from the curb too, or from any room in the house — see option 1.
3Drop-off options near Portland
Places that accept mattresses if you can get it there yourself. Distance is measured from the centre of Portland. Some accept residents of their own city or county only, so check before you drive.
Cheapest
Community Warehouse mattress donation drop-off (Portland)
Donors bringing twin, full or queen mattresses completely free of stains, rips and tears, plus box springs; no mattress toppers and no king mattresses. Donations must be ready to go out to households the same day, gently used or like new, safe, sound, fully functional, free of odors, smoke and pet hair, and needing no cleaning or repairs; staff inspect donations on arrival.
Conditions and source
Drop off with no appointment at 3969 NE MLK Jr Blvd, Portland, Tuesday to Saturday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Donations are tax deductible. A mattress the furniture bank cannot accept can instead be dropped off for Bye Bye Mattress recycling at the same NE Portland location (drop-off only). Sleeping bags and air mattresses are not accepted at all.
Not confirmed: No per-visit unit limit is published; the Bye Bye Mattress locator shows a 5-unit maximum for this site.
Not confirmed: The charity does not say whether the Bye Bye Mattress recycling drop-off accepts king mattresses that the furniture bank refuses.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteECR free Oregon mattress and box spring recycling drop-off
Oregon mattresses and box springs are recycled free through ECR's partnership with the Mattress Recycling Council; units from out of state are charged, and both households and businesses may drop off.
Conditions and source
Open Monday to Saturday 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. and Sunday 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. at 12409 NE San Rafael St. Out-of-state units cost $15 per unit plus $23 in fees. Items that do not qualify for the program, such as futons, air mattresses, crib mattresses and water beds, are charged $27 plus $23 in fees, described as a $50 minimum covering 380 lbs, or $140 per ton. A separately scheduled mattress removal service is offered for customers who want home collection.
- $0 — No charge per Oregon mattress or box spring recycled under the Mattress Recycling Council program
- $15 — Per out-of-state mattress or box spring, charged in addition to $23 in fees
- $27 — Per non-qualifying item (futon, air mattress, crib mattress, water bed), charged in addition to $23 in fees, described as a $50 minimum charge covering 380 lbs or $140 per ton
Not confirmed: No per-visit unit limit is published for household drop-offs.
Not confirmed: The home pickup service price is not published.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free–$27
Visit siteFree
Metro Central Transfer Station free mattress and box spring drop-off
Any customer at the public scale; the page states no residency requirement and sets the allowance per customer per day.
Conditions and source
Up to four mattresses or box springs per customer per day are accepted for free, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, closed the Fourth of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day. Car beds, foldout sofa beds, futons, crib mattresses, waterbeds and air mattresses are not covered and are accepted as garbage at the garbage rate ($51 minimum, $176.70 per ton). When mattresses arrive as part of a mixed load the customer receives a $2.40 credit for each mattress or box spring. Loads must be covered or pay an extra $25 per ton ($3 extra on minimum loads).
Not confirmed: Metro does not say whether the mattresses it takes are recycled, reused or landfilled.
Not confirmed: Metro's July 1, 2025 printed flyer gives the allowance as a $2.30 rebate per item up to four per day rather than a free drop-off, so the free-drop-off wording is only on the undated webpage.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteThe other 4 places, further out
Metro Central Transfer Station self-haul garbage disposal
Open to residential and commercial customers at the gate rate; commercial account holders have extended early-morning hours.
Conditions and source
Public hours 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily. Garbage is $51 minimum and $176.70 per ton, plus a transaction fee of $8.34 at automated scales or $30 at staffed scales and a 2 percent credit card processing fee. Uncovered loads are charged an extra $25 per ton ($3 extra on minimum loads). Sorting recyclables out of the load earns a $3 rebate up to 100 pounds or $6 above 100 pounds. This is the rate that applies to bed items excluded from the free mattress allowance, such as futons, waterbeds, crib mattresses and foldout sofa beds.
- $51 — Minimum garbage charge per load; loads above the minimum are charged $176.70 per ton
- Plus $3 — Surcharge: uncovered load, $3 extra on a minimum load and $25 per ton on larger loads
- Plus $8.34 — Surcharge: transaction fee per load at automated scales; $30 per load at staffed scales
Not confirmed: The current fee table carries no effective date, and Metro's July 1, 2025 flyer shows a $47 minimum and $162.14 per ton instead.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
$51
Visit siteNearest
Central Transfer & Recycling Center self-haul disposal
The operator page states no residency restriction for general users; rates and hours are set by contract between Clark County and Columbia Resource Company.
Conditions and source
Open Monday–Friday 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; household hazardous waste Friday–Sunday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Garbage is charged by weight or volume plus a per-trip transaction fee, and Washington adds a 3.6% state GRT to every disposal transaction. Neither the facility page nor the rate sheet names mattresses or box springs.
Not confirmed: No mattress or box-spring rate is published, so a mattress is only priced through the general weight or volume charge.
Not confirmed: The rate page carries no effective date and the facility page does not say whether mattresses are recycled or landfilled.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Columbia Resource Company — Central Transfer and Recycling Center
$10
Visit siteMetro South Transfer Station self-haul garbage disposal
Open to residential customers and commercial account holders at the gate rate; the page states no residency requirement.
Conditions and source
Public hours 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, closed the Fourth of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day. Garbage is $51 minimum and $176.70 per ton; clean wood $42 and $97.13; yard debris $37 and $56; organics $43 and $111.53; tires $30 for the first tire; appliances with coolant $30 each. Uncovered loads are charged an extra $25 per ton ($3 extra on minimum loads). Free recyclables and certain appliances are accepted at no charge.
- $51 — Minimum garbage charge per load; loads above the minimum are charged $176.70 per ton
- Plus $3 — Surcharge: uncovered load, $3 extra on a minimum load and $25 per ton on larger loads
Not confirmed: The Metro South page has no mattress or box spring section and the site is absent from the Bye Bye Mattress locator, so the free four-per-day allowance documented at Metro Central is not established here.
Not confirmed: Whether a mattress is simply charged at the garbage minimum here is not stated.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
$51
Visit siteFree
Pride Disposal recycling depot mattress and box spring drop-off
The depot page publishes no residency or customer requirement; it is described as a public recycling drop-off.
Conditions and source
Open Monday to Friday 8:00 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., closed over the lunch hour, at 13910 SW Tualatin Sherwood Rd. Mattresses and box springs are accepted at no charge; only traditional mattresses qualify, with no futon or crib mattresses.
Not confirmed: No per-visit unit limit or residency rule is published by the operator, though the Bye Bye Mattress locator shows a 5-unit maximum and an Oregon-residents-only flag.
Not confirmed: The page does not state whether mattresses taken here are recycled or landfilled.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteNo way to move it yourself? See pickup services →
4Junk removal options serving Portland
Companies that come to your home and carry the mattress out, so you need no vehicle. The prices below are starting prices unless stated — stairs, box springs and extra items add to them.
1-800-GOT-JUNK? mattress removal
Franchise network; coverage varies by ZIP (some ZIPs not serviced).
Conditions and source
In-person estimate before work; single items priced by size, minimum charge applies (amount not published). Donates or recycles where possible.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published mattress price.
Not confirmed: Recycling/donation not guaranteed per job.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit siteCollege HUNKS mattress removal
Franchise network; coverage varies by ZIP.
Conditions and source
Free estimate at start of job; price depends on location and job. Mattress recycled or disposed of; few donation centers take mattresses.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published price.
Not confirmed: Recycling vs landfill not stated per location.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit siteJunk King mattress disposal
100+ franchise locations in U.S. and Canada; coverage varies by ZIP.
Conditions and source
Free onsite/photo/phone estimate; pricing varies by location. Works with local recyclers and donation partners.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published mattress price on primary pages.
Not confirmed: Per-location recycling outcome not stated.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit siteThe other 1 companies
The Junkluggers mattress removal
Franchise network; find a local Junkluggers; coverage varies by ZIP.
Conditions and source
Free up-front estimate; most locations offer same-day pickup. Donates/recycles/repurposes when possible.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published price.
Not confirmed: Disposal of non-reusable mattresses not described.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit site5Store haul-away options in Portland
If you are replacing the mattress, the shop will often take the old one when they deliver. Usually one old mattress per new one, and only if it is dry and clean. Oregon law requires some of them to offer this; those come first.
- IKEA
- Ask provider
- Mattress purchase with delivery in California, Connecticut, Oregon or Rhode Island. Arranged via IKEA customer service; state recycling fee charged at purchase. Source
- Casper
- Free
- Casper mattress order with In-Home Delivery & Setup ($249), continental US; one used mattress per mattress ordered. Sanitary condition judged on site; box springs must be removable intact. Source
- Purple
- Free
- Non-California: free with Rejuvenate mattresses; $200 add-on for select Essentials/Restore mattresses. Mattress only (no box springs); unsanitary mattresses may be refused. Source
- Raymour & Flanigan
- Free
- New mattress purchase with delivery; free with mattress set of $500+. Safe, sanitary, free of rips and tears. Source
The other 15 retailers
- Rooms To Go
- Free
- New mattress with full service delivery. Not heavily soiled; not with Doorway Delivery. Source
- Saatva
- Free
- New Saatva mattress with white glove delivery; select removal at checkout; continental US. Clean, undamaged mattress/foundation only; no adjustable bases, frames, waterbed or Sleep Number bases. Source
- Sam's Club
- Free
- Select mattresses with White Glove Delivery; free White Glove for Plus members buying online; not PR/AK/HI. Haul-away on request; biohazard items refused. Source
- Tempur-Pedic direct
- Free
- Mattress (not TEMPUR-Cloud), power base or foundation bought directly from Tempur-Pedic; like-for-like. Adult 18+ present; bedding removed; unsanitary/heavily soiled items may be refused. Source
- Amazon
- $79.99
- Purchased with an eligible mattress; available in select cities. One mattress or box spring; no bodily fluids or bed bugs; adult present. Source
- Avocado Green Mattress
- Ask provider
- Avocado In-Home Delivery & Setup order in select areas; must buy the equivalent item. Subject to local health regulations; no bed frames/furniture. Source
- Bob's Discount Furniture
- Ask provider
- New mattress/foundation delivered via BOBtastic White Glove Delivery. Safe and sanitary condition. Source
- Costco
- Ask provider
- Costco mattress delivery in select areas; one-for-one like item. Not damaged, soiled or infested; ready at delivery; additional fees may apply. Source
- Helix Sleep
- $219
- Helix order with In-Home Setup & Removal selected at checkout; contiguous 48 states. Stained/soiled items may be refused. Source
- Living Spaces
- Ask provider
- Full Service Delivery; request at checkout. Stained/soiled mattresses not eligible. Source
- Macys
- $25
- Macy's mattress with White Glove ($125) or Room of Choice ($75) delivery; one-for-one. No stained, soiled or bed-bug items; no frames/adjustable bases/furniture. Source
- Mattress Firm
- Ask provider
- Mattress ordered for delivery from Mattress Firm; one-for-one. Box spring removed only if new order includes one; no wet, unsanitary or infested bedding; no furniture. Source
- Mattress Warehouse
- $29.99
- With delivery of a new purchase; add before delivery date. Mattresses/box springs only; stained items excluded. Source
- Resident (Nectar, DreamCloud)
- $199
- Nectar or DreamCloud order with paid White Glove Delivery, where offered. Removal at the provider's discretion; may be unavailable in some areas; CA/RI/CT add a state-mandated fee. Source
- Sleep Number
- Ask provider
- With a Sleep Number bed delivery: included with Ultimate delivery ($350) or added for $100 with Premium/Doorstep; one disposal per Smart Bed delivered. Adult 18+ present; no bed bugs/extreme soiling; Doorstep customers must put the old bed outside. Source
6Donation options in Portland
Most charities will not take a used mattress. These are the ones we checked, including the ones that say no.
- The Salvation Army (satruck.org): accepted-items list includes 'Mattresses' and beds; also says local ordinances and need vary by location and to call 1-800-SA-TRUCK to confirm what a local center accepts. Source
- Doesn’t take mattresses. Habitat for Humanity national ReStore guide: 'Mattresses and box springs are not accepted.' Source
Policies vary by branch. Call before you carry one over — we asked each of the big three directly: Goodwill, the Salvation Army and Habitat for Humanity.
Oregon mattress disposal rules
- Oregon Mattress Stewardship Program under SB 1576 (2022), implemented by Mattress Recycling Council from Jan 1, 2025. $22.50 stewardship assessment per mattress or boxspring collected at point of sale; collected units processed for renovation, reuse or recycling. Source
- Retailers must collect the assessment at point of sale as a separate receipt line item, buy only from registered producers/renovators, and give consumers collection-opportunity information; only registered entities may sell mattresses in Oregon. No retailer take-back mandate stated. Source
- Bye Bye Mattress Oregon: mattresses and box springs in any condition, no matter when purchased, can be dropped off free at participating collection sites or events; statewide locator at byebyemattress.com/find-a-facility/. Businesses with 100+ units qualify for no-cost transport and recycling. Helpline 1-855-494-8400. Source
Questions people ask about Portland
Is there free mattress disposal in Portland?
Yes: Community Warehouse mattress donation drop-off (Portland) (3969 NE MLK Jr Blvd, Portland, OR 97212); Metro Central Transfer Station free mattress and box spring drop-off (6161 NW 61st Ave., Portland, OR 97210); Pride Disposal recycling depot mattress and box spring drop-off (13910 SW Tualatin Sherwood Rd, Sherwood, OR 97140). Check eligibility and conditions before you go.
How much does mattress pickup cost in Portland?
Published starting prices: A Bedder World mattress pickup from $125. Stairs, box springs, and extra items can add fees.
Will the store take my old mattress when I buy a new one?
Several retailers offer haul-away with a new mattress delivery, usually with conditions: IKEA, Casper, Havertys, Purple, Raymour & Flanigan, Rooms To Go.
Are there state rules for mattress disposal in Oregon?
Oregon Mattress Stewardship Program under SB 1576 (2022), implemented by Mattress Recycling Council from Jan 1, 2025. $22.50 stewardship assessment per mattress or boxspring collected at point of sale; collected units processed for renovation, reuse or recycling.
What to check before you go
- Say if the mattress is wet, stained, or has any sign of pests — that is the usual reason one is turned away.
- Ask what the total will be. Box springs, stairs, and extra items are often charged separately.
- Check you qualify. Many sites serve only residents of their own city or county.