How to get rid of a mattress in Dallas (2026 local guide)
We looked for every way to get rid of a mattress in and around Dallas and listed them all below — pickup and recycling, city curbside collection, drop-off sites, junk removal companies, store haul-away and donation — with what each one costs and the page we took it from.
Dallas County, Texas · 31 options, 12 free · checked Sep 22, 2026
Dallas has a mattress recycling option — book a recycling pickup online with our Dallas mattress recycling partner.
6 ways to get rid of a mattress in Dallas
Everything we could find for this city. Click any one of them for the full details.
- 1A Bedder World Mattress Recycling — Dallas (our Dallas mattress recycling partner)Easily book a curbside or in-home pickup for mattress recycling throughout Dallas$125
- 2City curbside pickup in DallasBook a date with the city and leave it at the curbFee not published
- 3Drop-off options near Dallas5 places that take mattresses, nearest 19 miles awayFree
- 4Junk removal options serving Dallas4 national companies that come to your doorQuoted by address
- 5Store haul-away options in Dallas20 retailers remove the old mattress on deliveryFree at 8
- 6Donation options in Dallas2 charities checked, 1 will not take a mattressFree
Also on this page: Texas rules · common questions · what to check first
1
Want your mattress picked up and recycled in Dallas?
Use our Dallas mattress recycling partner, A Bedder World.
A Bedder World is a curbside and in-home mattress pickup service, recycling mattresses for homes and businesses throughout Dallas. They take it from the curb or carry it out of any room, and you book online and see the full price before you confirm.
- All 50 states covered
- 1M+ mattresses recycled
- 90% of materials recovered
Metro areas in all 50 states; book online. Small-town and rural coverage not stated.

$125a mattress · $155 with a box spring
See the price for DallasRun by the founder of this site. Every other option here is listed so you can compare.
Prices, conditions and sources
Curbside or inside pickup; stairs and long carries cost extra. Owned by the operator of this site.
$125 — Single mattress, per national FAQ.
$155 — Mattress and box spring set, per national FAQ.
$10 extra — Each flight of stairs.
Not confirmed: Per-city price may differ from the national FAQ.
Not confirmed: Recycling outcome per market not independently verified.
A Bedder World states it serves homes and businesses, listing bulk removal for hotels, apartments and commercial customers alongside residential pickup. Source
A Bedder World states it covers 1,000+ cities across all 50 states, with next-day pickup available. Source
A Bedder World states it removes the mattress from anywhere on the property, so pickup is from the curb or from inside the home. Source
A Bedder World states 90% of mattress materials are recovered and commits to sending none to landfill. Source
A Bedder World states it has recycled more than 1 million mattresses. Source
2City curbside pickup in Dallas
Dallas’s own collection service takes the mattress from outside your home. You normally have to book a date in advance and follow their wrapping rules.
Dallas brush and bulky item curbside collection
City of Dallas residential sanitation customers.
Conditions and source
Mattresses are listed among accepted bulky items. Collected once a month; set out between Thursday and Sunday before your collection week; up to 10 cubic yards per month, with one 20 cubic yard oversize collection per calendar year on request. Non-compliant or oversize set-outs are billed at $60 per 5 cubic yards.
Not confirmed: City pages do not state a price for a compliant collection or say it is free
Not confirmed: Outcome (recycling vs landfill) not stated
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
City of Dallas Sanitation — Brush and Bulky Items 2026 Collection Calendar (bill insert)
Fee not published
Visit siteA Bedder World collects from the curb too, or from any room in the house — see option 1.
3Drop-off options near Dallas
Places that accept mattresses if you can get it there yourself. Distance is measured from the centre of Dallas. Some accept residents of their own city or county only, so check before you drive.
Cheapest
McCommas Bluff Landfill resident drop-off
Dallas residents hauling their own waste from their residence in passenger cars, station wagons, pickups or trailers under 15 feet; valid driver's license plus proof of Dallas residency required. Commercial customers pay posted commercial fees.
Conditions and source
Monday–Friday 5 a.m.–8 p.m., Saturday 6 a.m.–4 p.m., closed Sunday. Accepted materials listed include household waste and furniture.
Not confirmed: Mattresses are not named in the site's accepted-materials list; the 2026 bill insert only says residents may dispose of waste free with proof of residency
Not confirmed: Outcome not stated
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteFree
Northeast (Fair Oaks) Transfer Station resident drop-off
Open to Dallas residents only, no commercial customers; valid driver's license plus proof of Dallas residency required.
Conditions and source
Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–9 a.m., Saturday 7 a.m.–4 p.m., closed Sunday. Accepted materials listed include household waste and furniture.
Not confirmed: Mattresses are not named in the site's accepted-materials list; the 2026 bill insert only says residents may dispose of waste free with proof of residency
Not confirmed: Outcome not stated
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteFree
Northwest (Bachman) Transfer Station resident drop-off
Open to Dallas residents and small commercial customers only; valid driver's license plus proof of Dallas residency required.
Conditions and source
Monday–Saturday 7 a.m.–4:30 p.m., closed Sunday. Accepted materials listed include household waste and furniture.
Not confirmed: Mattresses are not named in the site's accepted-materials list; the 2026 bill insert only says residents may dispose of waste free with proof of residency
Not confirmed: Outcome not stated
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteThe other 2 places, further out
Free
Southwest (Westmoreland) Transfer Station resident drop-off
Open to Dallas residents only, no commercial customers; valid driver's license plus proof of Dallas residency required.
Conditions and source
Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–9 a.m., Saturday 7 a.m.–4 p.m., closed Sunday. Accepted materials listed include household waste and furniture.
Not confirmed: Mattresses are not named in the site's accepted-materials list; the 2026 bill insert only says residents may dispose of waste free with proof of residency
Not confirmed: Outcome not stated
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Free
Visit siteNearest
Arlington Landfill public drop-off (convenience station)
Open to the public; a valid Texas driver's licence and a current residential water bill are required to receive the special city rates.
Conditions and source
Residents may bring loads of trash and clean-up debris to a paved-surface convenience station. A fee is charged based on tonnage and waste type, and rates are given only by telephone at (817) 354-2305. Only non-hazardous municipal solid waste is accepted; liquids, paint, chemicals and batteries are refused. Open Monday-Saturday 7 a.m.-4:30 p.m., closed Sunday and major holidays; hand-unloaded loads must be on the scales by 4 p.m. Monday-Friday. Anyone outside a vehicle to unload must wear a safety vest and hat, and minors may not leave vehicles.
Not confirmed: No rates published online
Not confirmed: Operator page does not say whether mattresses are accepted or separately charged
Not confirmed: Outcome not stated
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Arlington Landfill (Republic Services) — Drop-off information and requirements
Fee not published
Visit siteNo way to move it yourself? See pickup services →
4Junk removal options serving Dallas
Companies that come to your home and carry the mattress out, so you need no vehicle. The prices below are starting prices unless stated — stairs, box springs and extra items add to them.
1-800-GOT-JUNK? mattress removal
Franchise network; coverage varies by ZIP (some ZIPs not serviced).
Conditions and source
In-person estimate before work; single items priced by size, minimum charge applies (amount not published). Donates or recycles where possible.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published mattress price.
Not confirmed: Recycling/donation not guaranteed per job.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit siteCollege HUNKS mattress removal
Franchise network; coverage varies by ZIP.
Conditions and source
Free estimate at start of job; price depends on location and job. Mattress recycled or disposed of; few donation centers take mattresses.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published price.
Not confirmed: Recycling vs landfill not stated per location.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit siteJunk King mattress disposal
100+ franchise locations in U.S. and Canada; coverage varies by ZIP.
Conditions and source
Free onsite/photo/phone estimate; pricing varies by location. Works with local recyclers and donation partners.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published mattress price on primary pages.
Not confirmed: Per-location recycling outcome not stated.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit siteThe other 1 companies
The Junkluggers mattress removal
Franchise network; find a local Junkluggers; coverage varies by ZIP.
Conditions and source
Free up-front estimate; most locations offer same-day pickup. Donates/recycles/repurposes when possible.
Not confirmed: Coverage varies by ZIP.
Not confirmed: No published price.
Not confirmed: Disposal of non-reusable mattresses not described.
From the provider’s own page, checked Sep 22, 2026. Not confirmed by phone.
Ask provider
Visit site5Store haul-away options in Dallas
If you are replacing the mattress, the shop will often take the old one when they deliver. Usually one old mattress per new one, and only if it is dry and clean.
- Casper
- Free
- Casper mattress order with In-Home Delivery & Setup ($249), continental US; one used mattress per mattress ordered. Sanitary condition judged on site; box springs must be removable intact. Source
- Purple
- Free
- Non-California: free with Rejuvenate mattresses; $200 add-on for select Essentials/Restore mattresses. Mattress only (no box springs); unsanitary mattresses may be refused. Source
- Raymour & Flanigan
- Free
- New mattress purchase with delivery; free with mattress set of $500+. Safe, sanitary, free of rips and tears. Source
- Rooms To Go
- Free
- New mattress with full service delivery. Not heavily soiled; not with Doorway Delivery. Source
The other 15 retailers
- Saatva
- Free
- New Saatva mattress with white glove delivery; select removal at checkout; continental US. Clean, undamaged mattress/foundation only; no adjustable bases, frames, waterbed or Sleep Number bases. Source
- Sam's Club
- Free
- Select mattresses with White Glove Delivery; free White Glove for Plus members buying online; not PR/AK/HI. Haul-away on request; biohazard items refused. Source
- Tempur-Pedic direct
- Free
- Mattress (not TEMPUR-Cloud), power base or foundation bought directly from Tempur-Pedic; like-for-like. Adult 18+ present; bedding removed; unsanitary/heavily soiled items may be refused. Source
- Amazon
- $79.99
- Purchased with an eligible mattress; available in select cities. One mattress or box spring; no bodily fluids or bed bugs; adult present. Source
- Avocado Green Mattress
- Ask provider
- Avocado In-Home Delivery & Setup order in select areas; must buy the equivalent item. Subject to local health regulations; no bed frames/furniture. Source
- Bob's Discount Furniture
- Ask provider
- New mattress/foundation delivered via BOBtastic White Glove Delivery. Safe and sanitary condition. Source
- Costco
- Ask provider
- Costco mattress delivery in select areas; one-for-one like item. Not damaged, soiled or infested; ready at delivery; additional fees may apply. Source
- Helix Sleep
- $219
- Helix order with In-Home Setup & Removal selected at checkout; contiguous 48 states. Stained/soiled items may be refused. Source
- IKEA
- $30
- Mattress or box spring bought in store with in-home delivery, in select markets / ZIP codes in the continental US; not online orders. Removal may be on a different date from delivery. Source
- Living Spaces
- Ask provider
- Full Service Delivery; request at checkout. Stained/soiled mattresses not eligible. Source
- Macys
- $25
- Macy's mattress with White Glove ($125) or Room of Choice ($75) delivery; one-for-one. No stained, soiled or bed-bug items; no frames/adjustable bases/furniture. Source
- Mattress Firm
- Ask provider
- Mattress ordered for delivery from Mattress Firm; one-for-one. Box spring removed only if new order includes one; no wet, unsanitary or infested bedding; no furniture. Source
- Mattress Warehouse
- $29.99
- With delivery of a new purchase; add before delivery date. Mattresses/box springs only; stained items excluded. Source
- Resident (Nectar, DreamCloud)
- $199
- Nectar or DreamCloud order with paid White Glove Delivery, where offered. Removal at the provider's discretion; may be unavailable in some areas; CA/RI/CT add a state-mandated fee. Source
- Sleep Number
- Ask provider
- With a Sleep Number bed delivery: included with Ultimate delivery ($350) or added for $100 with Premium/Doorstep; one disposal per Smart Bed delivered. Adult 18+ present; no bed bugs/extreme soiling; Doorstep customers must put the old bed outside. Source
6Donation options in Dallas
Most charities will not take a used mattress. These are the ones we checked, including the ones that say no.
- The Salvation Army (satruck.org): accepted-items list includes 'Mattresses' and beds; also says local ordinances and need vary by location and to call 1-800-SA-TRUCK to confirm what a local center accepts. Source
- Doesn’t take mattresses. Habitat for Humanity national ReStore guide: 'Mattresses and box springs are not accepted.' Source
Policies vary by branch. Call before you carry one over — we asked each of the big three directly: Goodwill, the Salvation Army and Habitat for Humanity.
Texas mattress disposal rules
- No statewide mattress stewardship program or landfill ban found on TCEQ pages as of 2026-09-22; mattress disposal is handled by local governments. Source
- TCEQ's Take Care of Texas (Mar 4, 2025) notes many mattress retailers offer pickup of old mattresses on new-mattress delivery, organizations such as Salvation Army and Habitat for Humanity may accept good-condition mattresses, and many cities/haulers offer bulk pickup or collection events. Source
Questions people ask about Dallas
Is there free mattress disposal in Dallas?
Yes: McCommas Bluff Landfill resident drop-off (5100 Youngblood Road, Dallas, TX 75241); Northeast (Fair Oaks) Transfer Station resident drop-off (7677 Fair Oaks Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231); Northwest (Bachman) Transfer Station resident drop-off (9500 Harry Hines Boulevard, Dallas, TX 75220). Check eligibility and conditions before you go.
How much does mattress pickup cost in Dallas?
Published starting prices: A Bedder World mattress pickup from $125. Stairs, box springs, and extra items can add fees.
Will the store take my old mattress when I buy a new one?
Several retailers offer haul-away with a new mattress delivery, usually with conditions: Casper, Havertys, Purple, Raymour & Flanigan, Rooms To Go, Saatva.
Are there state rules for mattress disposal in Texas?
No statewide mattress stewardship program or landfill ban found on TCEQ pages as of 2026-09-22; mattress disposal is handled by local governments.
What to check before you go
- Say if the mattress is wet, stained, or has any sign of pests — that is the usual reason one is turned away.
- Ask what the total will be. Box springs, stairs, and extra items are often charged separately.
- Check you qualify. Many sites serve only residents of their own city or county.